Historic Landmarks Commission

Tucker County Historic Landmarks Commission
P.O. Box 202
Parsons, WV 26287

Telephone: 304.478.2866 ext. 207

Meeting Information

The Tucker County Landmark Commission meets at 5 p.m. the Third Monday of every month. Meeting agendas with locations are posted outside on the bulletin board three days prior to the meeting. Meeting places alternate between the bottom of the county and the top of the county.

About the Landmark Commission

In 1982, the Tucker County Historic Landmark Commission (TCHLC) was established by order of the County Commission. After several years of inactivity, TCHLC was revived in 2007. The organization is tasked by an ordinance from county government to “maintain an up-to-date register of local sites; identify, document, and recognize eligible historic properties in the county; and to build awareness of Tucker County’s historic properties through educational programs and by offering technical assistance.”

The mission of the Tucker County Historic Landmark Commission (TCHLC) is to encourage the protection of the county’s historic resources by building an awareness of their significance in local, state, and national history. TCHLC works to identify and document eligible properties, designate and recognize properties according to their significance, and promote their educational and economic use for the benefit of the citizens of Tucker County.

In 2008 TCHLC was recognized as a Certified Local Government (CLG) by the West Virginia State Historic Preservation Office. The CLG program gives national recognition to local preservation commissions and empowers communities like those in Tucker County in their preservation efforts. Tucker County’s CLG Program fosters a unifying link between local, state, and federal preservation organizations creating not only a viable network but a genuine partnership. The designation makes TCHLC eligible to apply for grants and technical assistance which supports local projects county-wide.

Tucker County has nine properties listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The first site to be listed in 1972 was the Fairfax Stone, which is located at the juncture of Grant, Preston, and Tucker Counties. The Davis Coal and Coke Company Administration Building in Thomas was the most recent listing in October 2011.

Other significant single properties and a historic district are listed on the National Register. They include:

  • Cottrill Opera House, Thomas (1979)
  • Tucker County Courthouse and Sheriff’s Residence/Jail, Parsons (1984)
  • The Western Maryland Depot, Parsons (1996)
  • Thomas Commercial Historic District, Thomas (1998)
  • Saint George Academy, Saint George (2001)
  • The Meyer House, Davis (2010)
  • Tucker County Bank Building, Parsons (2010)

In addition to these listings there are many other properties that have been determined eligible for the National Register or are considered significant on a local level.

Tucker County Historic Landmark Commission members:

Joseph W. Dumire, Chair        August 2020
Kate Parker, Secretary             August 2020
Belva Dilly, Treasurer              August 2020
Rosemarie Davis, Tucker County Historical Society representative
Diane Hinkle, Tucker County Commission representative

Elaine George

Historic Landmark Brochure